Brown Butter Roasted Banana Bread with Chocolate Chips

I made banana bread in a square pan and therefore it looks like a cake…

IMG_2620

AND it is the most delicious, flavorful, crazy moist banana bread that looked like a cake ever. I made some “normal” banana bread last week that everyone went crazy over so when one of my friends told me that she had a bunch of bananas that were going bad and asked if I wanted to make some banana bread with them I said “of course!” How could I possibly pass up free bananas and a chance to make something delicious? My friends finished this off within a few hours. There was nothing left to save, as it should be!

IMG_2610

This was so simple to make! First I placed the bananas in the oven for about 20 min. to roast. While they were cooling, I browned the butter and then transferred it into another bowl to cool. When the bananas were cool, I peeled and mashed them and then stirred in the sugars and the eggs.

IMG_2611

Next I added in half of the dry ingredients.

IMG_2612

Before I added in the second half of the dry ingredients, I poured the brown butter into the batter.

IMG_2613

Once everything was combined, I added in the chocolate chips and stirred until they were evenly distributed.

IMG_2615

Next I poured the batter into a greased pan and sprinkled some cinnamon sugar on top. Then I placed it in the oven for about 25-30 min.

IMG_2617

RECIPE:-makes about 12 servings

  • 3 ripe bananas
  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp cinnamon plus extra for topping
  • 1 2/3 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tsp baking soda
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 cup granulated sugar plus more for topping
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Place bananas on a foil or parchment lined baking sheet. Once preheated, place bananas in oven and roast for about 20 minutes or until black and blistered. Let them cool before using.
  2. While bananas are roasting, brown butter in a saucepan on medium heat on the stove. This should take about 5-10 minutes. Pour brown butter into a bowl to cool.
  3. Keep oven on and grease a 9X11 square cake pan.
  4. In a medium bowl, stir baking soda, cinnamon, and flour together and set aside.
  5. When bananas are cool, peel and mash them in a large bowl.
  6. Stir in the sugar and then stir in the eggs one at a time.
  7. Add about half of the dry ingredients and stir until combined.
  8. Pour in the brown butter and remaining dry ingredients and stir until combined.
  9. Add in the chocolate chips and stir until evenly distributed.
  10. Pour batter into a greased 9X11 pan and spread evenly. Place in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until a knife comes out clean.
  11. Cool and enjoy!

IMG_2621

Leave a Reply

