Brown Butter Snickerdoodles (made with a fork!)

IMG_2549

These kind of look they chicken nuggets.

IMG_2551

They really do, right? Anyway, these are snickerdoodles, NOT chicken nuggets and they are positively heavenly. After making the blondies last week, my new friends were asking for more goodies, but without all of my beautiful kitchen appliances it’s kind of tricky to bake what I want to. As the title suggests, these cookies were made completely with a fork. It was a slight pain, but it works! I decided to use brown butter as it makes my life so much easier because I do not need to beat my butter and the brown butter also adds so much incredible flavor.

IMG_2538

First I browned the butter. If you don’t know how to do this, here is a step by step guide. Next I stirred in my brown and white sugar until everything was combined.

IMG_2539

Next I stirred the dry ingredients in with a fork. The fork made my life slightly more difficult but the cookies were still delicious.

IMG_2540

Once everything is incorporated, chill the dough in the fridge for a few hours. The colder the dough, the puffier the cookies.

IMG_2546

Then I rolled the dough into one inch balls and covered them in cinnamon sugar. I baked them on a greased cookie sheet at 350 degrees F for about 7-8 min.

IMG_2548

RECIPE- adapted from Ambitious Kitchen

  • 1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter
  • 1 cup packed light brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 1/2 cups self-rising flour
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • cinnamon-sugar mixture for rolling

DIRECTIONS

  1. Brown butter in medium saucepan over medium heat. Pour into a bowl and allow to cool.
  2. Once butter is cool, stir in sugars, eggs, and vanilla until incorporated.
  3. Add in the cinnamon and then the flour a cup at a time until completely combined and form the dough into a large ball.
  4. Wrap the ball in plastic wrap and place it in the fridge to cool for a few hours.
  5. Before rolling the dough, preheat oven to 350 degrees F and grease a nonstick cookie sheet.
  6. When dough is ready to use, roll dough into 1 inch balls and roll the balls in the cinnamon-sugar mixture. Place balls about 2 inches apart on a baking sheet and bake for about 7-8 minutes or until you like the way they look. I personally prefer a lighter, chewier cookie so I don’t leave them in the oven for too long.
  7. When cookies are done, let them cool on a wire rack. Enjoy!

IMG_2552

One thought on “Brown Butter Snickerdoodles (made with a fork!)

  1. These cookies were probably the BEST snickerdoodles I’ve ever had in my 22 years of living. And I know my snickerdoodles…

Leave a Reply

