Brown Butter Oatmeal Dark Chocolate Chip Cookies

You could probably call me the cookie monster. When I bake cookies, there is NO stopping me. I will continually eat them until someone decides to take them away from me. Also, good luck trying to get one before I’ve hidden them in my room because I’m not above doing that. (Yes, I really do that)

The same goes for cookie dough. You can ask my roommate, Meg. I believe I wiped her out of her pre-made cookie dough balls within the first month of us living together. (I’m really sorry Meg, I do intend to make it up to you :) )

Image

Look at these babies! These cookies are the kind that I begrudgingly share. Don’t you just want put your hand into the computer screen and grab one of these guys?

IMG_2009

Between the brown butter and the cinnamon, these cookies are quite possibly the most fragrant, flavorful, and delicious cookies I have ever made. They have a nice crunch on the outside, but also a beautiful bit of chewiness in the center.

They are also so easy to make…how can you refuse? Ask your stomach.

IMG_2008

RECIPE-very slightly adapted from my absolute favorite blog How Sweet It Is

  • 1/2 cup salted butter
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 large or extra large egg
  • 2 teaspoons of vanilla extract
  • 1 1/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips (I used Ghirardelli)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicone mat.
  2. Brown butter in a small saucepan on medium-low heat. For step by step instructions on how to brown butter, click here. Let cool completely before using.
  3. Combine flour, oats, baking powder, and cinnamon in a bowl and set aside.
  4. Put the sugars in a large bowl and whisk in the brown butter until smooth.
  5. Add egg and vanilla and whisk until smooth.
  6. Slowly add the dry ingredients while using either a wooden spoon or your hands. Once everything is incorporated, stir in the chocolate chips.
  7. Roll 1 1/2 inch balls with your hands and place them 2 inches apart on the baking sheet. Bake for 10-12 minutes or until edges are golden. Makes about 16 cookies.

IMG_2012

Leave a Reply

